#### PERSONNEL & EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE MINUTES

COMMITTEE: PERSONNEL & EXECUTIVE COMMITTEES

DATE: TUESDAY, MAY 2, 2016

TIME: 5:00 PM

PLACE: COUNTY BOARD ROOM

#### CALL TO ORDER

Chairman Millan called the meeting to order at 5:00 p.m. and read the agenda.

#### ROLL CALL

Members Present: Chaney, Collins, Dailey, LeMaster, Lukas, Millan and Shaffer Absent: Others present: William Connors Jr., Nora Matuszewski, John Dennee, Joshua Bradley, Michelle Hartness, Teresa Erler, Cortney Britten, Roger Wilson, Joe Krawze, Annie Krawze, Todd Propson and Jason Hilger

### APPROVE AMENDED AGENDA

Motion by Lemaster to approve the amended agenda as presented, seconded by Dailey. All present voting AYE. Motion carried.

## APPROVE MINUTES FROM THE APRIL 11, 2016 PERSONNEL & EXECUTIVE MEETING

Motion by Collins to approve the minutes of the April 11, 2016 meeting, seconded by Dailey. All present voting AYE. Motion carried.

# DISCUSS AND POSSIBLE APPROVAL OF EMPLOYEE RESIGNATION; TERESA ERLER

Motion by Dailey to approve employee resignation from Teresa Erler, seconded by Collins. All present voting AYE. Motion carried.

# DISCUSSION WITH JOHN DENNEE AND MICHELLE HARTNESS ON EMERGENCY MANAGEMENT MOVING FORWARD

Michelle Hartness from Wisconsin Emergency Management was in to explain the requirements for the Emergency Management position. Michelle gave each board member a packet with the job description and training requirements for the position and grant information. There was a long discussion on the job requirements and the future of grant funding.

John Dennee was also in to discuss the position and his concerns with the IT side of the job. He has a deputy that is willing to help out now.

Teresa explained her concerns also and was going to have Heartland come in and do a network assessment, which would cost around \$8,000 to complete for time and materials. Motion by Lemaster, seconded by Lukas to allow Heartland to do a network assessment, not to exceed \$8,000. All present voting AYE. Motion carried.

# DISCUSSION AND POSSIBLE APPROVAL OF APPOINTMENT TO NORTH CENTRAL WISCONSIN REGIONAL PLANNING COMMISSION

Motion by LeMaster to nominate Dailey, seconded by Chaney. All in favor voting AYE. Motion carried.

Motion by Dailey to nominate Connors Jr., seconded by Lemaster. All in favor voting AYE, Motion carried.

## DISCUSSION AND POSSIBLE APPROVAL OF ASSISTANT CORPORATE COUNSEL; ALEX SEIFERT

Motion by LeMaster to approve Assistant Corporate Counsel, Alex Seifert, seconded by Dailey. All in favor voting AYE. Motion carried.

### **CLOSED SESSION**

Motion by Lukas to adjourn into closed session pursuant to Wis. Stat. §19.85(1)(c) Considering employment, promotion, compensation or performance evaluation data of any public employee over which the governmental body has jurisdiction or exercises responsibility. This closed session relates to the reorganization of County Administration; Jason Hilger, seconded by Collins. Roll call vote Collins AYE, Chaney AYE, LeMaster AYE, Dailey AYE, Lukas AYE, Millan AYE and Shaffer AYE. Motion carried.

# RECONVENE TO OPEN SESSION TO TAKE ACTION, IF APPROPRIATE, ON MATTERS DISCUSSED IN CLOSED SESSION

Motion by Collins to return into open session, seconded by Dailey. All present voting AYE. Motion carried.

No Action Taken

#### **CLOSED SESSION**

Motion by Lukas to adjourn into closed session pursuant to Wis. Stat. §19.85(1)(c) Considering employment, promotion, compensation or performance evaluation data of any public employee over which the governmental body has jurisdiction or exercises responsibility. This closed session relates to committee assignments for supervisors, seconded by Collins. Roll Call vote Collins AYE, Chaney AYE, LeMaster AYE, Lukas AYE and Millan AYE. Motion carried.

# RECONVENE TO OPEN SESSION TO TAKE ACTION, IF APPROPRIATE, ON MATTERS DISCUSSED IN CLOSED SESSION.

Motion by Lukas to return into open session, seconded by Chaney. All present voting AYE. Motion carried.

Motion by Lukas to recommend the committee appointments as follows, seconded by Chaney. All present voting AYE. Motion carried.

#### STANDING COMMITTEES

## Forest County Board of Supervisors Committee Members 2016-2018

ADRC- Paul Millan

ADVERTISING- Cheri Collins, William Chaney, Melinda Otto, Jack Matuszewski

AGING- Larry Berg, William Connors Jr.

AUDIT & CLAIMS- George Stamper, Ron Karl, Lance Laabs

BOARD OF ADJUSTMENT- Ronald Tschohl, Harry Thurin, James Drefahl, Wayne Daul-Alternate, John Aschenbrenner-Alternate, Dan Samz-Alternate

CHILD SUPPORT-Melinda Otto, Kellee Gallion, Daniel Huettl

CIVIL SERVICES COMMISSIONS-Dennis Theune, John Harter, Jerry Gibson, Mike Mentz, Gregg Tallier

**COMMUNITY ACTION- Larry Berg** 

COMMUNITY COALITION- Melinda Otto, Kellee Gallion, Stephen Bunda

COMMUNITY OPTIONS- Paul Millan-(51.42 Representative)

EMERGENCY GOVERNMENT & 911- Paul Millan (by State Law), George Stamper, Dan Huettl

EXECUTIVE- Paul Millan, Terry Lukas, William Chaney, Don LeMaster, Cheri Collins

FAIR- Bucky Dailey, Melinda Otto, Stephen Bunda, Kris Houle, Don Dehart, Jr.

FINANCE & PUBLIC PROPERTY- Paul Millan, Terry Lukas, William Connors Jr., Bucky Daily, Jack Matuszewski

FOREST COUNTY ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT- Paul Millan, Bucky Dailey, Jack Matuszewski

FORESTRY & RECREATION- Don LeMaster, Don Dehart Jr., William Chaney, Ron Karl, William Connors Jr., Dave Campbell, Stephen Bunda

GROW NORTH REPRESENTATIVE- Paul Millan

HEALTH- Melinda Otto, Larry Berg, Kellee Gallion

HIGHWAY-Terry Lukas, Don LeMaster, William Connors Jr.

INTERGOVERNMENTAL RELATIONS (COMPREHENSIVE PLANNING)- Don Dehart Jr., Karl Tauer, Bucky Dailey, Jack Matuszewski, Kris Houle

ITBEC BOARD-Paul Millan, William Chaney

ITBEC TOURISM-William Chaney, Melinda Otto

LAND CONSERVATION/AGRICULTURE AND EXTENSION- Paul Millan (by Forest County Rule), Lance Laabs, Dan Huettl, Karl Tauer, Dave Bula-FSA member

LAND INFORMATION –Ron Karl, Kris Houle, Cortney Britten, Samantha Votis, Nora Matuszewski, Christy Conley, Jill Krueger

LAND SALES & DELINQUENT TAX- Lance Laabs, Kris Houle, George Stamper

LAND & WATER RESOURCES- Karl Tauer, Lance Laabs, Cheri Collins, Stephen Bunda, Ron Karl

LEGISLATIVE-STATE & FEDERAL- Bucky Dailey, Stephen Bunda, William Connors

LIBRARY- Karl Tauer, Cheri Collins

LIBRARY BOARD- Carol Bartlein, Kim Geiter, Linda Harter, Christine Janczewski,

LOCAL EMERGENCY PLANNING COMMISSION (SARA)-Teresa Erler, Paul Millan, Representative Rob Swearingen, George Stamper, Dan Huettl, John Dennee, Michael Childers, John Rogers, Liz Wood, Charles Sekel, Jill Krueger, Linda Thomaschefsky

NORTH CENTRAL REGIONAL PLANNING COMMISSION- Paul Millan, Bucky Dailey, William Connors, Jr.

RAIL COALITION- Ron Karl, Kris Houle

PERSONNEL- Scott Shaffer, Bucky Dailey, Terry Lukas, Cheri Collins, William Chaney

RC&D- Paul Millan, Larry Sommers

RISK MANAGEMENT- Dave Campbell, Scott Shaffer, Kris Houle

SHERIFF & JUSTICE- Scott Shaffer, George Stamper, Lance Laabs

SOCIAL SERVICES- Paul Millan, Melinda Otto, Scott Shaffer, Kellee Gallion, Dave Campbell

SUSTAINABLE FORESTRY- Jack Matuszewski, Ron Karl

TRAFFIC SAFETY COMMISSION- John Dennee, Karl Tauer, George Stamper, Larry Berg, Kellee Gallion, John Rogers

VETERANS- William Chaney, Jack Matuszewski, Lance Laabs

VETERANS SERVICE COMMISSION-Timothy Blank, Louise Spaude, Lynn Liesch, Alois Bocek, Dan Papapetru, Gable Cundiff

WCA- Paul Millan, Bucky Dailey, William Chaney

HUMAN SERVICE CENTER- Paul Millan, Dave Campbell

ANSWERS- William Chaney

### ADJOURNMENT

There being no further business, motion by Lukas to adjourn, seconded by Collins. All present voting AYE. Motion carried. Meeting adjourned at 9:40 p.m.

☐ These minutes are not official and are subject to change. They will be officially approved at the next scheduled Personnel meeting.