COMMITTEE MEETINGS FOREST COUNTY

COMMITTEE: FORESTRY & RECREATION **PLACE:** COUNTY BOARD ROOM

DATE: FEBRUARY 8, 2016 **TIME CALLED TO ORDER:** 4:00 P.M.

MEMBERS PRESENT: DON LEMASTER, DON DEHART, DAVE CAMPBELL, BILL CHANEY,

BILL CONNORS, PAUL CLEEREMAN, LARRY SOMMER

OTHERS PRESENT: DAVE ZIOLKOWSKI, PAUL MILLAN, MARY TORGERSON

MINUTES OF MEETING AS FOLLOWS:

Meeting was called to order by Chairman LeMaster. Motion by Chaney, seconded by Sommer to approve the agenda as read. All voting aye, motion carried. Motion by DeHart, seconded by Connors to approve the minutes from the January 12, 2016 meeting. All voting aye, motion carried. Ziolkowski stated that a logging contractor has requested an extension on Contract #468-12, the Goat Hill Sale. Motion by Connors, seconded by Sommer to approve an extension on this timber sale. All volume uncut after April 1, 2016 will receive a 10% increase in stumpage. All voting ave, motion carried. Ziolkowski updated the Committee on a landowner requesting to purchase 8 acres of open, treeless County forest land. The landowner is now requesting to purchase up to 16 acres as well as provide an easement to Forest County across his property. Ziolkowski will attempt to find the value of a road access. The Committee directed Ziolkowski to inform the landowner that the County will only sell 8 acres. Ziolkowski reported that he spoke to Erler from Emergency Management and she felt there was no reason to keep the DNR Wolf River fire tower that is on County land. Motion by DeHart, seconded by Campbell to have the DNR remove the fire tower from County land. All voting aye, motion carried. Motion by Chaney, seconded by Sommer to approve Don Peterson, Wendy Gehloff, Gary Zimmer, Liz Wood and Josh Jameson to become new members of the Federal Sustainable Forest Committee and to remove Jason Quade, Brigitte Kumbier and Jimmy Landru as former members. All voting aye, motion carried. Ziolkowski stated that he has signed an agreement with Jamie Anderson with MSA

to engineer the Hwy 8 ATV trail. Motion by Cleereman, seconded by Connors to approve 4 resolutions; Administrator Grant, Variable Acreage Share Grant, 2016 Forestry Department Annual Work Plan and the Emergency Fire Wardens list to be forwarded to the full County Board for approval. All voting aye, motion carried. The next meeting date is Tuesday, March 15th at 4:00 p.m. in the County Board Room. There being no further business at this time, motion by Chaney, seconded by Sommer to adjourn. All voting aye, meeting adjourned.