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INFORMATION 
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Office Hours for Applications: 

Monday – Friday 

8:30 a.m. to 4:00 p.m. 

 

 
 

 

APPLICATION CHECK LIST: 

 
❑ Date of Ceremony 

 
❑ Apply at least four (4) days before date of         

ceremony but no more than 60 days from issue date. 

Allow sufficient time as the County Clerk’s Office is 

not open weekends or certain holidays. 

 

❑ Current Valid Photo ID 

 

❑ Proof of Residency  

(If photo ID does not contain current address, the 

applicant can provide a dated utility bill or other 

official correspondence addressed to the applicant 

with the applicant’s current street address.)       

 

❑ Certified State or County birth certificates 

(hospital certificates or birth registration forms are 

not acceptable, nor will damaged or altered records 

be accepted). 

 

❑ Parent’s first, middle and last name (mother’s 

maiden name). Provide correct spelling if not 

provided on birth certificate. 

 

❑ Officiant name, phone, address, and email; 

ceremony location; and two witnesses names. 

 

❑ Your Social Security number (if applicable) 

 

❑ If previously married, signed copies of the 

Judgment of Divorce, court annulment, or certified 

copy of Spouse’s death certificate. 

 

❑ Years of completed education; email addresses       

(if applicable). 

 

❑ Application fee $75 – Cash or check made 

payable to Forest County Treasurer 

 
Information provided in this brochure is not inclusive, and lists the 

minimum requirements for a marriage license. Refer to WI State 

Statute 765 for additional regulations. 

 

 

 

 

 

 

If you are interested in a civil type ceremony 

the following, Judge and Commissioner 

perform marriages. You must contact them 

directly to arrange prior to obtaining your 

marriage license. 

 

Judge Leon Stenz 

Circuit Court 

715-478-2329 

 

Deborah Hatfield 

Family Ct. Commissioner 

715-478-2329 

 

http://www.co.forest.wi.gov/


 
Important Marriage 

Certificate Facts 
 

The marriage license/worksheet is a legal 

document and must be completed according to 

strict statutory guidelines. 

 

Rules applying to the WI Marriage 

License/Certificate Worksheet follows. Legible 

corrections to the WI Marriage 

License/Certificate can be made within the 

officiant section by the officiant according to 

instructions. Instructions for finalization are 

provided with the issued license/worksheet. 

Signatures shall be done in black ink. 

 

The Register of Deeds / State of WI Vital 

Statistics will not accept a marriage certificate 

or license/worksheet except when properly 

completed according to the instructions 

provided by the WI Department of Health 

Services. 

 

Proof of marriage requires couples to obtain a 

certified copy of the WI Marriage Certificate 

available at any Register of Deeds of any 

County in Wisconsin. (Obtain approximately 

one week after the ceremony). 

 

Changing Last Name by Marriage: By common 

practice, most agencies will accept a certified 

copy of a marriage certificate as proof of name 

change after marriage if you chose a standard 

change (i.e. either or both of you use both of 

your last names or change to one of the last 

names). 

 

Certified copies of your marriage certificate 

may be purchased in any Register of Deeds 

office in the State of Wisconsin. 

 

 

 
Name change for Social Security or your driver’s license needs 

to be completed through the respective agencies. 

 

INFORMATION GUIDE 

 

♥ Where to Apply ♥ 
You can obtain a marriage license from the clerk 

of any county in the State of Wisconsin. If 

applying for the license in Forest County, 

marriage license applications may be completed 

Monday through Friday, 8:30 a.m. to 4 p.m. in 

the Office of the Forest County Clerk - Room 

201. 

 

Both must show proof of residence (driver’s 

license, utility invoice, etc.) 

 

♥ When to Apply ♥ 
Application must be made at least four (4) full 

days before the ceremony date, but no more than 

60 days. The couple must apply in person 

together. 

 

The 3-day waiting period (day of application not 

counted) is only waived at the discretion of the 

County Clerk for sufficient reason (Example: 

Both applicants from out of state or military 

applicants on leave). The waiver fee is $25 and 

proper application documentation must be 

presented. 

 

♥ Age ♥ 
Persons are of age to marry without parental 

consent at age 18.  

Certified birth certificates are required -- this is 

a state or county certified birth certificate with 

the official seal and signature of the Register of 

Deeds. Hospital or baptismal certificates are 

unacceptable; damaged/altered records are also 

unacceptable. 

 

 

 

 
If you are NOT a U.S. Citizen, you must provide the same 

proper ID and standard proof of eligibility to marry. Any 

document not in English must have attached to it a certified or 

notarized translation.  Valid passports from the country of 

origin are accepted for ID. If you have questions regarding the 

required documents, please call the office. 

 

Other Information Required at the Time of 

Application in Addition to the Preceding: 

 
❖ Social Security Numbers (if applicable) - 

only need to provide number, physical cards are 

not required. 

 

❖ When, Where, and by Who you will be 

married by. Officiant name, phone number and 

address, address of ceremony location. This 

information must be arranged before applying 

for marriage license. 

 

WARNING: Mail order/internet ordained persons 

might not be qualified officiants to perform 

marriages. Neither our office, nor the State Vital 

Records Office, will confirm the legality of a 

religious officiant. Wis. Statutes 765.16 provides 

additional information. 

If you question the legality of your chosen officiant, 

you may want to seek legal counsel. 

 

❖ Years of Education Completed 

 

❖ Parents’ First, Middle, and Last Name 

(Mother’s Maiden Name) 

 

❖ Place of Birth 

 

❖ If you were previously married: You must 

show proof of how your last marriage ended. 

Signed copies of judgment of divorce, court 

annulment papers, or a certified copy of the 

spouse’s death certificate must be provided. 

 

❖ If your last marriage ended by divorce, you 

cannot marry in Wisconsin until 6 months after 

the date of final decree of your divorce, even if 

you were divorced in and/or reside in another 

state. There is no provision for waiving the 6-

month waiting period for any cause. 

  

❖ The $75, non-refundable application fee is 

due at the time of application. 

If the couple should be unable to apply within 

the required time due to extenuating 

circumstances, the County Clerk may waive the 

waiting period for an additional charge of $25. 

 


